Capturing Art

I’m not sure which photographer it was who, when asked why he took pictures, replied, to see what the subject would look like as a photo. I can relate to that. Another photographer, Bryan Peterson, said, “Every photograph is a lie, but it is within that lie that a mountain of truth is revealed.” I, too, believe every photo is in some way a selection and a manipulation of the visual world around us.

These thoughts are important to me when I photograph art and architecture. Am I just documenting what the artist created? Or can my photo be considered creative in its own right? I prefer to believe, or rather aim for, the latter.

Today, with our cameras, we visited Munich’s Pinakothek der Moderne (Art Gallery of the Modern). The museum, designed by the German architect Stephan Braunfels, was completed ten years ago and is a fun place to go with your camera. Too bad that tripods aren’t allowed.

Rotunda of the Pinakothek der Moderne (Art Gallery of the Modern), designed by Stephan Braunfels

"Das Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts" ("The End of the 20th Century") Joseph Beuys, Pinakothek der Moderne

More pictures from the museum here.

This entry was posted in In and around Munich and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Capturing Art

  1. I love the first picture (the rotunda) – I always find it rather difficult to take photos of architecture, and this one is simply perfect!
    Btw, I’m adding your blog to my RSS feed now. You can now count me as a regular reader 🙂

Leave a Reply

