Seeing More of Munich

My camera is leading me to places close to home that I never before visited in the 50 years I have been living in Munich. For example, since I’m not a soccer fan, I was never in the Olympic soccer stadium. I’ve walked and cycled past it, but never viewed the shapes and lines it offers when you are inside.

I found the Wikipedia information interesting and am quoting it directly: “The stadium was built for the 1972 Olympic Games. … Designed by the German architect Günther Behnisch and the engineer Frei Otto, the Olympiastadion was considered revolutionary for its time. This included large sweeping canopies of acrylic glass stabilized by steel cables that were used for the first time in a large scale. The idea was to imitate the Alps and to set a counterpart to the 1936 Summer Olympics in Berlin, held during the Nazi-Regime. The sweeping and transparent canopy was to symbolize the new, democratic and optimistic Germany.”

I took more pictures for my photo class assignment and some other views of the stadium are in my picture diary.

This entry was posted in In and around Munich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeing More of Munich

  1. David Alston says:

    Suzanne,
    All the pictures are interesting but I especially like the one taken of the town through the structural supports of the stadium. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

