If You Meet the Buddha on the Road

The ninth-century Buddhist master Lin Chi is supposed to have said, “If you meet the Buddha on the road, kill him.” My understanding of this quote is that it is an admonishment to go beyond the concepts of established religion, be it Christianity, Islam or Buddhism, to the truth they are intended to lead you to.

I didn’t meet Buddha on the road, I met Confucius in the park – and I shot him. With my camera, of course. On my wanderings in downtown Munich, I cycled past the gate to a small park that I had passed many times before. There are a few construction sites to its left and right and I wasn’t even sure there was anything behind the gate but a pile of dirt. Not so. I was pleasantly surprised to find a small patch of grass with trees all around. Then came another surprise, a statue of Confucius was presiding over the space.

This entry was posted in In and around Munich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

