A Tall Dark Stranger

I now know that the little park I discovered a few days ago is called “Dichtergarten”, Poet’s Park. I knew it had to have a name. With a few clicks in Internet I learned more. Before the war it was indeed a park but for many decades after WWII the ground was used for a parking lot and gas station. In 1984 the present park was completed.

In the middle of the park there is a small hill, a mound might be a better word for it, and at the top I met the Tall Dark Stranger – a statue of Fyodor Ivanovich Tyutchev. Who was Fyodor Tyutchev? In Wikipedia I read that he is  one of the most memorized and quoted Russian poets. He was also a diplomat in Munich from 1822–26.

More pictures in my gallery.

This entry was posted in In and around Munich. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

